A Recipe You’ll Love…

Welcome back to Cookbooks & Crayons!

The recipe that I’m telling you about today is, by far, one of my favorites that I have tried from Chrissy’s cookbook: Chicken Lettuce Wraps! I will say, I had really high expectations for this recipe. I’m the type of person that orders a lettuce wrap appetizer as her entrée because they’re so good and low calorie. This dish is fairly common, but the flavors are never the same; some of the best places to order chicken lettuce wraps, that I have found, have been Pei Wei, P.F. Chang’s, and California Pizza Kitchen. So, when I tried this recipe, not only was I testing out how easy and quick they are but also how they compare to the restaurants’ renditions.

Instead of butter lettuce, I used green leaf lettuce, and it worked just as well. I will say, though, that it does fall apart much easier than butter lettuce, so I still recommend butter lettuce as Chrissy says to do.

To cut right to the chase, it was pretty difficult to find a way to make my child eat this recipe. Just seeing lettuce, he was repulsed. I found that rolling the chicken up into a tortilla then grilling it on the stovetop made it much more appetizing to him. I still can’t say he was crazy about the flavors. In the end, it was a chicken nugget night. Although, if your child enjoys Asian-inspired dishes or if your child is older than two, you might have a better chance at your child liking this dish. As I have said before, Chrissy really does love her spice; Sriracha is, without a doubt, a common theme in this cookbook. For this recipe, I do recommend either cutting the Sriracha out completely or minimizing the amount you use. If you do cut it out for the sake of your children but still want the spice, you can do what I did and add it on top as a garnish.

Despite having difficulties with getting my son to eat it, I enjoyed this dish immensely. It didn’t taste like P.F. Chang’s, Pei Wei’s, or California Pizza Kitchen’s, but this recipe was extremely good. It was a bonus that I made these wraps at home and knew exactly what ingredients I used. This recipe did not take long either; what took the longest time was cutting my bell pepper and ginger. Other than that, it was a breeze. It took me 30 minutes rather than Chrissy’s estimated 45 minutes, and it helped that I used the scissors from my knife set to cut the scallions. In all honesty, this is a recipe that I wouldn’t mind making as a second dish for myself. It also makes great leftovers. It might even be better the second day after all of the flavors have had time to meld. If you’re a meal-prepping mama, this recipe is for you. Conclusively, I give this recipe a solid 8 for how easy, quick, and delicious it is, but there is a two-point deduction for my child’s disapproval. Try this recipe out with your own children and tell me how they like it!

Until next time, happy eating!

Leave a comment