The Golden Recipe…

Welcome back to Cookbooks & Crayons!

Macaroni and cheese– I don’t think it can get much more simple than that. As a busy parent, I probably make it about two times a week, sometimes as a side dish at dinner and sometimes as the main course for dinner. That’s the beauty of this dish; it is so versatile. Mac and cheese is kind of like the crock-pot of dishes; you can practically throw anything into it, and by the grace of God, it turns out alright. So, I tested out Chrissy’s macaroni and cheese recipe to see how it compared to the mac and cheese I typically cook, Annie’s Organic White Cheddar Macaroni and Cheese (boxed).

There’s really no point in discussing whether or not Easton enjoyed the mac and cheese. Of course he did; it’s mac and cheese. Although, I did alter Chrissy’s recipe in two ways to make it more appealing to my child: I disregarded the cayenne all together, and I changed the noodles from plain shells to ridged elbow veggie pasta (to make it healthier). I always try to incorporate some kind of vegetable into mac and cheese whenever I make it. Some of my best hits with Easton has included: roasted and pureed butternut squash, peeled and pureed zucchini and mashed English peas. My favorite of those three is the butternut squash because I can put it in the oven and forget about it until I’m ready to make the food, and due to the taste and the color of the squash, Easton never notices it’s there.

However, back to Chrissy’s mac ‘n’ cheese– it was delicious. It was a hit with everyone. Although, I have a hard time saying it was worth the full hour it took to make compared to the 10 minutes it would’ve taken to make a boxed mac and cheese. Nevertheless, it’s great for parties. I had plenty of leftovers even after me, three others and my son all ate it. Additionally, to save time, I made my own bread crumbs which consisted of normal bread crumbs I already had, garlic powder, a hint of salt and pepper. Once sprinkled on top of the mac and cheese, I finished it off with garlic salt. It turned out really well.

In the end, it was a great recipe, but the fifty minutes I could’ve saved would’ve been even better.

Leave a comment