My Blog Journey…

Welcome back to Cookbooks and Crayons!

In this blog post, I won’t be discussing a recipe that I cooked. In fact, I’ll be talking about what I learned from this blog-writing journey, how it will benefit me in the future and how successful I was in gaining readers.

There’s a plethora of cookbooks out there, ready to be read and cooked from.

I’ve thought about this blog often throughout the semester, and if I could go back and start it over again, I would not have focused on moms specifically. Yes, I am a mom, but I’m also many other things that demand my time. Moms are not the only busy people in the world, and I think I realized this somewhere along the way as I tried to reach a broader target audience with each new post. Although, I didn’t forget about my moms. Concerning promoting my content, rather than using Twitter as the primary promotion platform, I would’ve chosen Pinterest and Facebook because my content is better suited for the people who visit those sites.

My blog-writing journey has been amazing, and I have learned to much. It has given me more experience writing in a way other than technical or fictionally creative. As a person who wants to work in the publishing industry, I hope this will allow me to have a broader knowledge in writing styles and see value in different types of writing. Along with this, I have also gained knowledge on how to efficiently promote something on social media. I’m also happy that I’ll be able to note my experience using a content management system (CMS) on my resume. Using these new-found skills, I hope it will make me more desirable when applying for a job managing a company’s website or social media page(s).

Concerning the success of my blog, the week of February 11th proved to be my most successful with a total of 43 views and 17 visitors. My original post was my most popular post of the semester at 43 views. I think it was the most popular because it was the homepage that described what this blog-writing journey was all about. Additionally, I promoted that post on both Twitter and Facebook. To back up what I said, the majority of my readers came from Facebook alone. The readers coming from Facebook was over twice as many as the readers coming from Twitter. In all, I think the most surprising thing that came from this blog-writing journey is that I had people coming from WordPress reading my blog. Furthermore, some of those people even went so far as to like the post. So to those that liked my posts, that aren’t family or friends, thank you, and to my friends and family, thank you for reading as well.

It’s been a great journey.

Leave a comment