A Perfect Breakfast…

Happy Sunday readers!

On Sunday mornings, one of my favorite things is a wholesome, home-cooked breakfast. There’s something perfect about starting your week off with good food. So, today, I tried out not one but two of Chrissy Teigen’s breakfast recipes: Cheesy Cheeseless Scrambled Eggs with Burst Cherry Tomatoes and Garlic-Roasted Bacon. These two recipes, especially together, are not just recipes you’re going to want to try, but they are recipes you need to try.

There’s no need to use a cast-iron skillet to roast the tomatoes. I used a non-stick pan greased with a thin layer of olive oil, and it worked perfectly.

The worst thing I can say about this recipe is that it took me 30 minutes instead of 20 minutes to make. However, 30 minutes for eggs, tomatoes, and bacon sounds like a pretty good deal to me, so that is hardly a complaint. One of my favorite things about this recipe is that the bacon is cooked in the oven. The bacon is always perfectly crispy and doesn’t cause the unwanted grease splatter when cooked this way. Another favorite, although this may differ with from mom to mom, is that it was extremely relaxing to make; I wasn’t rushing around like a mad woman. The bacon cooked in the oven while the eggs cooked over the stove top, and I, slowly stirring my eggs, read my book. This, my friends, is multitasking at its finest.

To add to this, there is nothing in this recipe that my child disagreed with. “Cheesy” scrambled eggs are always a hit, and what could be more of a hit than that? Garlic-Roasted Bacon. My child even ate the cherry tomatoes, making this dish a dream. The ingredients are simple, and the recipe is quick. My only note: one person only needs two eggs at most. There’s no need to use a dozen eggs unless you’re cooking for the family from Cheaper by the Dozen.

I may or may not be eating this recipe again for dinner. Until next time, happy eating!

Leave a comment