Breakfast for Dinner…

Welcome back to Cookbooks and Crayons!

One of my absolute favorite things of all time is breakfast for dinner. I’m not sure who was in charge of designating certain foods to be eaten at a certain time, but that person and I would not be friends. If I’m craving french toast at seven at night, I’m eating french toast at seven at night. Additionally, eating breakfast for dinner is one of my best childhood memories; I cannot count how many times my parents whipped up some pancakes or breakfast tacos for dinner. It was amazing. That’s why I decided to carry this “tradition” on into my own family by making Chrissy Teigen’s, or John’s, breakfast sandwiches for dinner.

The breakfast sandwich did not survive long after this photo was shot.

The greatest thing about this recipe was how quick it was. It only took me 20 minutes in comparison to the 25 minutes that Chrissy’s cookbook told me it would take. Somehow, I got better at chopping onions throughout my blog-writing journey. However, throughout cooking this recipe, I did have to make some changes. There were six changes, to be exact, that I made to this recipe to both improve it and childproof it.

There were three ingredients that I left out completely when making this dish. To avoid spiciness, I disregarded both the red pepper flakes in the meat and the sriracha sauce at the end. I also left out the light brown sugar in the meat. I understand that one tablespoon is not much, but if you’re a parent of a two-year-old boy, you will understand any effort I make to avoid sugar before bed. To also childproof this recipe, I didn’t serve it to Easton in sandwich form; as delicious as it was as a sandwich, there was no way he could have wrapped his mouth around it to take a bite. Therefore, I scrambled his egg, served it with the patty and gave him a buttered whole-grain English muffin as a side. Furthermore, to improve upon the sandwich, I used a red onion. I found that the sweetness of this particular onion helped bring out a caramelized flavor in the meat (All Natural Regular Jimmy Dean). I also chose to toast the English muffin with butter and cheese in the oven before placing the egg and sausage on top to ensure that the cheese was gooey and melty. In the end, all these changes were worth it because 20 minutes after beginning my cooking, Easton and I were both in food heaven.

Happy eating!

Leave a comment